Australian Academy To Kick Start 2017 With The 6th AACTA International Awards

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) will kick start 2017 in Los Angeles with the 6th AACTA International Awards, held at The Avalon Hollywood on Friday 6 January.

The AACTA International Awards honour screen excellence from the last year, regardless of geography, across seven categories – Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

Some of Australia’s biggest names in screen will join host Daniel MacPherson on stage to present during the Ceremony, including: AACTA Trailblazer Award recipient Isla Fisher, Ruby Rose, Julian McMahon, Alan Dale, Angus Sampson, Simon Baker,  Damon Herriman and Luke Bracey.

Also attending the Ceremony will be Nominees Nicole Kidman (LION), Mel Gibson (HACKSAW RIDGE), Dev Patel (LION) and Joel Edgerton (LOVING).

LA-based alt-pop trio Ocean Park Standoff (featuring Samantha Ronson, Ethan Thompson and Pete Nappi) will open the Ceremony with a performance of their debut single Good News.

The 6th AACTA International Awards will be telecast in Australia exclusively on Foxtel Arts, Foxtel’s high definition dedicated arts channel, on Sunday 8 January at 7.30pm (AEDT) followed by an encore on Arena at 9.30pm and encores the following day on Foxtel Arts.